Government  >  Departments  >  Correctional Administration
Department Logo  Correctional Administration
Department Image

The Department of Correctional Administration looks after the functioning of Correctional Homes. Correctional Homes were earlier known as Jails. After the introduction of West Bengal Correctional Services 1992 (effective from the year 2000) the entire perspective of departmental activities has been reoriented. The purpose and the objectives of the department are to reform the inmates of such Correctional Homes rather than only punishment through incarceration. All the activities of the department are oriented towards achieving this objective of returning these inmates to the society as reformed, responsible and economically enabled members.

The Department of Correctional Administration functions through a two -tier structure - 

  • Secretariat
  • Directorate (Directorate of Correctional Services)
  • Regional Office (Different Correctional Homes)

At present there are 59 Correctional Homes which include 7 Central Correctional Homes, 03 Open Correctional Homes, 05 Special Correctional Homes , 01 Women Correctional Home, 12 District Correctional Homes, and 31 Sub Correctional Homes in West Bengal."

Minister-of-State (Independent Charge)

Sri Akhil Giri

Address: Jessop Building, 1st Floor,
63 Netaji Subhas Road,
Kolkata - 700001
Phone: 2262-5695
Fax: 2262-5692 

Principal Secretary

Sri Ravi Inder Singh, IAS

Address: Jessop Building,
1st Floor, 63 N S Road,
Phone: 2262-5696
Fax: 2262-5696

Nodal Officer

Sri Sunanda Bhattacharya, WBCS (Exe), Deputy Secretary

Address: Jessop Building,1st Floor,
 63, N S Road ,Kolkata-700001
 Phone: 2262-5690
Fax: 2262-5691

Last updated on: Tuesday, 23 August 2022
Information Source: Department of Correctional Administration, Government of West Bengal
  • West Bengal Electronics Industry Development Corporation Limited
  • Bengal Global Summit
  • West Bengal Map
  • National Portal of India
  • e-Governance Portal

Disclaimer: Site Contents owned, designed, developed, maintained and updated by the Information & Cultural Affairs Department, Government of West Bengal.

Official Site of Government of West Bengal, India | Copyright 2022, All Rights Reserved.